I said I’d review Firefly

Well, when I first started this little review session, I was pretty confident of the notion that I could get away with simply watching an episode of Firefly every Friday for the next month or so, and that this would provide me with some material for the next couple of weeks whenever I ran out of things to blog about / had writers cramp / whatever. Sadly my experiment had to be brought to a quick end when I realized that I wasn’t going to be able to just watch a single episode of Firefly every Friday, and in fact, I was going to have to watch more of the series right there and then. So after only 3 days of posting my original post about how good firefly was on the first episode, I had managed to blow through the entire series and the movie. And now like every other person that has ever seen firefly and been an avid fan of science fiction of any type, I’m addicted like a crack addict and terribly saddened that fox forced the creation of Serenity so early on.

Let me first start by saying this, I can understand why Firefly didn’t make it past season 1. You see the thing is that why Firefly is a great series and really does deserve its own time slot, there is no way in hell that it was going to compete with Joe Millionaire, which had the likes of the entire nation watching to see if women were truly gold diggers only interested in the cash. This of course appealed to the American sense of misogyny, and that was also the whole reality TV craze that was beating the likes of CBS’s survivor. So trying to put Firefly against this monster probably wasn’t a smart move on anyone’s part. The simple fact of the matter is that Firefly is applying to a very localized niche, and Joe Millionaire wasn’t, it was just an apply to those who watch TV” kind of mass. And unlike ABC’s Lost later on down the road, Firefly simply was to much of a smart show for the general public to really get a hold of. You see, the thing about Lost, is that it isn’t a smart show, it’s a character drama wrapped in CGI elements, that pretends that Berman style plot twist are awesome [Which looking back on this, probably explains why they hired JJ Abrams for the new Star Trek movie]. Lost isn’t a smart show, it’s a series of “make your own adventure” style plot moves. This is not how Firefly works, it’s a show that requires a lot more depth and thought especially in the areas of River Tam and the likes, the big thing is that it addresses [much like Star Trek] social taboo’s [Piracy, Modification of Humanity]. This is just not something that the public can really get into at any point in time because it requires that your brain be functional.

There is also the issue that even among science fiction fans, it did have that strange style of being a western which was not something that sits well even with Star Trek being the “wagon train to the stars”. The western view of the series apparently didn’t do that well with  a lot of the big reviewers when it first came along. Now this having been said, while it was quite a fun motif, it did tend to nag on the show a bit towards the end when almost every single episode was some kind of western theme. That’s why I think episodes like Ariel really needed to be a bit more present if only because it shook up the standard scenery where Firefly would visit a world that would be populated by folks who still think the use of covered wagons and horses is a fashionable way to travel. I’m not saying it’s an impossible theory, and agricultural trading like the movement of cows would likely occur, but on the same note if an expedition from the United States were to land on a foreign world today, I can almost guarantee you there would be some kind of solar powered vehicle to get them through the day. I guess it just felt weird that the black market settled on 19th century America as its stopping point technologically.

That having been said, the series was fantastic, the character development was still some of the best, and honestly I haven’t laughed so hard at dialog in quite some time. In particular I’m reminded of a scene in “Our Mrs. Reynolds” where Preacher lectures Mal on the Special hell that there is for child molesters and people who talk at the theater. The show just has so many great moments, from the song to the closing credits, there were very few moments I wasn’t enjoying the train ride. If you haven’t pirated it/ picked up the single season / whatever, I strongly suggest that you do so now so that you too can join us…

Take my love, take my land
Take me where I cannot stand
I don’t care, I’m still free
You can’t take the sky from me
Take me out to the black
Tell them I ain’t comin’ back
Burn the land and boil the sea
You can’t take the sky from me
There’s no place I can be
Since I found Serenity
But you can’t take the sky from me…

Oh yeah… Serenity (the movie) will make you cry manly tears.

From Firefly Wiki

You can't take the sky from me.

This entry was posted in Geeky and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I said I’d review Firefly

  1. Babs M says:

    That says it all. Well done. *snif*

  2. Sue F says:

    Right on the money. God why do the good die young.

  3. Toddy says:

    Agree with most of what you said. I liked the Western theme, and think that even though the mixture might not bear up to close scrutiny as far as ‘would that ever really happen’, it brought some freshness to both genres which lets face it, have had more than enough hackneyed TV series/movies devoted to them.

Leave a Reply

